For my son, Adrian, & my daughters, Miranda & Trisha

What Lies Inside

 

He sits and ponders

a world gone crazy,

when will it end,

I’m sure he wonders.

He dreams big dreams

that he hides deep inside,

only revealing it

in bits and pieces.

He hopes for more

than he can find words for,

and prays for everyone,

even the enemy within.

For the enemy waiting outside

is easy to fight,

you just smile and walk away,

but the enemy that hides deep inside’s

a far different matter.

He tells cunning lies,

pretends he is a dear friend,

and it’s harder to walk away

from something inside,

he follows you by cleaver ways,

finds every place you hide.

But,

our little ponderer I feel,

has learned how to wait him out.

 

~*~

 

I have

 

I have a daughter I am very proud of

she may not think I am

though I try to tell her everyday

She is another world to me

the dream I once had

she now carries

though she doesn’t think so

I am so very proud of you.

So fearless and bold

relentless in everything you decide to do

I know you will take everything he world gives you

and give it right back

Strong and so sure,

let the insecurities fend for themselves

there is always tomorrow for them

Hold onto the dream

I am so very proud of you

cry if you must,

rage when you must,

but never give in

Hold onto the dream

and remember

I am so very proud of you.

 

~*~

 

Our Little Whirl Wind

She’s our little whirl wind,

our little tornado,

never stopping,

ever on the go,

she very often

leaves destruction in her wake.

She’s our little whirl wind,

our little tornado

and she keeps everyone

always on the go,

always on their toes.

She’s our little whirl wind,

our little tornado,

with her always on the go

I don’t know what I’d do

if she suddenly decided

to stop.

Sometimes I think she’s afraid

the world would stop

if she did,

so I don’t see her

giving up very soon.

One thought on “For my son, Adrian, & my daughters, Miranda & Trisha

  1. ♥♥♥♥♥___♥♥♥♥♥

    did u show u kids these poems? this is very nice…and feels like we know everyone of them…i hope u having a wonderful, wonderful week! lots of love, i’m sending u!

Leave a Reply

