Something nice

I was going through my poems, listening to good music brings out a creative thing in me, and I found a poem I have no idea when I wrote, but it must have been inspired by a picture someone sent me or I saw on the web. It may not be about Alzheimer’s, but I think it should be shared and I don’t know if I ever did. Why am I in shock, well it took me by surprise. I hope you like it, I cried after reading it. LOL
Ron said that as far as he remembers I wrote this, I tend to forget what I write even though it is in my own handwriting, silly I know.

HUGS
Dallas

 

A Soldiers Thoughts

by Dallas Sieck

I watched the sun rise
Over a foreign horizon,
Thoughts of you and why
Flitting through my tired mind.
I listened to the sounds around me,
Some so strange and some so familiar,
And again I wonder why.
What happened to the world I thought I knew?
What happened to the country I thought I knew?
What happened?
I watched the sun set
On a foreign horizon,
No where near where I watched it rise.
Thoughts of you and why still flit through my tired mind
And I wonder,
Will I ever see you again?
Will I ever see home,
Will it even be the same?
The stars and moon, guide me to sleep,
They and the sun seem to be
The only thing left the same.

Leave a Reply

