Fighting Alzheimer’s is a no win battle

I  am  amazed  by  how  many  people  still  have  very  little  idea  what  Alzheimer’s and  dementia   is  and  does  to  people .  How  it  makes  a  person  feel  and  behave . 

Too  many  people  do  not  understand  that  you  can  and  will  sleep  a lot  of  the  time  and  it  gets  worse  as  time  goes  on . 

Some  people  will  be  angry  and  fight  against  whoever  might  be  there.  What  you  might  not  understand  is, they  aren’t  striking  out  at  you  so  much  as  they  are  striking  out  at  the  disease .  We  are  fighting  something  that  cannot  be  seen  or  heard  so  lash  out  at  whoever  is  there.

There  are  some  who  seem  fine  yet  may  start  crying over little  or  nothing, or  they  may  laugh  the  same  way .  They  are  sometimes  easily  frightened.

Vision  will  be  strange  and  unsettling  sometimes  and  that  will  get  worse. For example:  for  me  there  are  times  where  there  seems  to  be  a  haze, fog  or  smoke  between  me  and  the  rest  of  the  world .  And  sometimes  it  is  more  like  looking  through  a  pane  of glass  that  cannot  be  easily  seen  through .  Like  the  older  ones.

Sounds  can  also  be  a  problem .  I  have  a  good  deal  of  hearing  loss  yet  there  have  been  times  when  I  need  to  cover  my  ears  because  the  sounds  are  so  loud  and  startling  and  often  confusing .  I  may  not  even  be  able  to  understand  my  own  language . 

I  no  longer  feel  comfortable  leaving  my  house  and  have  found  that  I  am  more  comfortable  there.  So now  I  am  in  a  Rehabilitation  facility  after  first  breaking  both  legs  and  feet, then  getting  sick .  It should  not  have  been  a  surprise  when  one  day  I  was  feeling pretty  foggy  that  suddenly  I  had  no  idea  where  I  was.

Confused  I  told  a woman  what  I  was  feeling  and  she  patiently  explained.  Later,  still  feeling  foggy  but  a little  better  I  tried  to  explain  to  the  nurse  who  told  me  that  it  was  just  the  medication .  When  I  tried  to  explain  about  the  Alzheimer’s  she  said  usually  it  was  the  medication  that  did  it . 

When  I  get  foggy  or  confused  or  cannot  understand  what  is  going  on  or  being  said or am  sleepy  I  am  told  the  same  thing  despite  my  telling  them  repeatedly  this  all happened  to  me  before  I  fell.

I  am  exhausted .  I’m  fighting  a  battle  with  Alzheimer’s  and  unlike  when  I  was  at  home  I  am  unable  to  do  what  I  use  to  so  I  could  at  least  rest .  I  was  told  sleep  and  rest  helps  the  body  but  it  freaks  them  out . 

So  Alzheimer’s  is  still  not  understood  even  by the  people  who  you  might  think  should  be, or  at  least  would  be and  it  should  be. I  realize  this  is  a  rehabilitation  facility  and  that  they  expect  one  to  get  better  so  they  can  leave  and  live  life  like  everyone  else,  but  it  doesn’t  happen  with  everyone .   It  won’t  be  happening  with  me .

When  I  leave  for  home  that  will  be  where  I  will  be  for  a  long  time. I  have  a  brittle  bone  disease  so  the  bones  will  take  longer  to  heal.  Factor  in  the  Alzheimer’s  and  well  you  get  the  idea . 

Right  now  this  is  the  best  way  I  can  explain  things .  Maybe  later  I  can  explain  more  than  I  have.

HUGS 
There  are  many  different  ways  we  can  see  the  world  and  honesty  there  are  many  days  all  I  want  to  do  is  hide  from  the  world . 
There  are  a  few  things  that  I  need  to  add  here ,  I  have  started  having  trembling  in  my  hands  which  can  be  troublesome  when  I  am  trying  to  crochet  or  write  on  draw .  So  far  they  aren’t  too  bad  just  a  little  scary .  

I  am  fighting  so  hard  and  I  am  not  sure  what  I  am  even  fighting  but  I  don’t  think  I  will  win  the  battle .  In  fact ,  I  am  positive  that  I  will  lose . I  am  just  trying  to  get  the  most  important  things  written  when  I  can . I  apologize  if  sometimes  things  don’t  make  sense , but  remember ,  not  a  lot  makes  much  sense  to  me .  And  less  every  day .  

Sometimes  I  slip  into  a  state  where  I  am  not  awake  yet  I  am  not  asleep  either .  I  mean ,  I  close  my  eyes  and  almost  reach  sleep  yet  am  still  fully  aware  of  everything  around  me .  I  cannot  go  deeper  into  sleep  yet  cannot  seem  to  wake  up  either .  When  someone  finally  gets  me  awake  I  feel  nausea  and  even  more  tired  and  usually  vomit   (sorry  for  this I  can’t  find  a  way  to  say  that  other  than  directly ). Afterwards  I  usually  fall  asleep  for  several  hours  and  feel  fine  after  that .  I  have  no  idea  what  this  means  or  what  it  may  or  may  not  mean  concerning  Alzheimer’s, but  thought  I’d  share  it  with  you  just  in  case  anyone  else  may  experience  this . 

I’m  very  tired  and  sorry  for  my  long  absence .  I  will  try  to  make  time  for  writing  more  soon . 

God  bless  you  and  HUGS

One thought on “Fighting Alzheimer’s is a no win battle

Leave a Reply

